Are An Horse from Brisbane? or Newark?

An Horse, WallsI was listening to An Horse’s new album Walls for the first time on my morning commute having only heard song samples before, and midway through opener “Dressed Sharply” I found myself querying Wikipedia: where the hell was this band from? Based on how Kate Cooper enunciates, I was thinking somewhere in or near the five boroughs. This is how I heard the verse that got me searching:

“Dressed so shawply
You know I will read
Ev-e-ry woid
That you send me”

Turns out they’re from Brisbane, Australia. Huh. Now I have to wonder: is Brisbane the Newark of Down Under? Listen for yourself & decide:

Leave a Reply

