Best of ’11: Motopony

MotoponyThe Best Songs You (Maybe) Didn’t Hear 2011
Track 6: Motopony, “I Am My Body”

RCRD LBL gave away Motopony’s “I Am My Body” over the summer, and I was instantly hooked: it’s a delightfully morbid circle of life writ large by fuzzy bass, old-timey piano, and hand claps (“When I get my body back to the earth/Don’t put me in no box/Let my bones disperse/Feed me to the cows/Feed me to the chickens and the sows/Feed me to the ones that I eat now.” It’s sadly unrepresentative of their self-titled debut, which is a bit of a folky bore, but that doesn’t detract from the fun. Check out a live version of the song here:

And download a free MP3 from RCRD LBL.

Leave a Reply

